Thursday, 3 December 2015

Saturday, 28 November 2015

Wednesday, 25 November 2015

Tuesday, 17 November 2015

I seem to progress one way and then realise that's not the way...apparently it takes a while to learn to illustrate.

Sunday, 8 November 2015

Prema exhibition

Holey moley. I have an exhibition up, bit nerve racking but also terribly exciting!
Following feedback , I am trying to add line work to my screen prints....

Tuesday, 3 November 2015

Still playing.

I have been using my first ever really good paintbrush. It cost me £13 and is a da Vinci brush. It is amazingly different to the cheap brushes I normally use. It seems to hold the paint in and let it flow out slowly like a pen brush. I whole heartedly recommend it. 

Wednesday, 28 October 2015

Cutting and positioning.

So I've been doing more cut out and collage and building these little scenes. I have to work out how to photograph and light these scenes....but this is the rough set up for one.


Saturday, 3 October 2015

I'm in Prema. I have arrived and unpacked, into my new studio, which is wonderful. I am so excited to be in this wonderful art centre, surrounded by inspiring creatives and their work. I can't believe how lucky I am to b here. 

Tuesday, 18 August 2015

Sunday, 16 August 2015

Negative space

Continuing on with using watercolour, I thought I could explore concentrating on negative space. I decided to play with using masking fluid and cut out stencils. So here I'm showing some experimental sketchbook work using these processes and then some more progressed work.....which is still work in progress.

Wednesday, 12 August 2015

Learning to use watercolours

So after having spent a few weeks playing with screen printing, I have also wanted to progress my use of watercolours, so today I have been experimenting with some paints. 

Wednesday, 5 August 2015

Screen printing still. Today it has been all about cats. Still experimenting with the inks. I think my second colour had a tad too much extender base as it is very watery in the prints but the images seemed to work anyway. Tried to use a stiff acrylic paint brush to make the drawing fluid go on more scratchily ( not a word ) but it seemed to give a nice feel of fur to the print marks.

Friday, 24 July 2015

Have had an up and down few days printing.....things not going always to plan but still good to experiment


Wednesday, 17 June 2015

Macmillan private view

Had a wonderful evening at the Macmillan prize last night. I met one of my hero's, the lovely and talented Emily Gravett. Although mixing being star struck with free wine did compromise my pretence at professionalism. Anyway, I was hugely inspired by the talented work on show. The exhibition is on until Thursday at the Coningsby Gallery in Tottenham. 

Wednesday, 10 June 2015

More screen printing today. I am finding it hard to mix colours correctly. The colours dry darker and it seems impossible to work out how much extender base to use. I am slowly learning but there seems to be a wide area for error.

Monday, 8 June 2015

Macmillan

I am lucky enough to have two projects highly commended by Macmillan. I couldn't be more excited.

Thursday, 4 June 2015

A day of screen printing

Screen printing at home is quite a challenge, particularly in a small place with small children and a cat. 
Note the wine glass amongst the chaos!


Thursday, 21 May 2015

Bea on the sofa cuddling our kitten Maisie. Am thinking about how I enjoy drawing and what methods of art working I want to use for my projects....sometimes I think, I want to just draw and draw and draw. So perhaps this is just me procrastinating. 

Tuesday, 10 March 2015

Sunday, 8 March 2015

It has been a very long time but I have been busy, here are some pieces from recent projects. 

Sunday, 4 January 2015

Hi I haven't posted for a month or so but I have been busy. I've been working on two dummy books which were quite personal and so I didn't want to post too much, but here is a little look....